top of page

Final Year Update

Hi everyone!

So it has been rather a long wait for an updated blog post. My last one was back in April and I had just finished my placement year at Zoë Jordan. Afterwards, I worked at Monty & Ward for a couple of weeks whilst waiting to hear back from jobs.

Back in May, I started working at Hoopers Department Store in Tunbridge Wells as a Sales Consultant. Within 3 days of working I was promoted to a Personal Shopper! Whilst working I got really involved in merchandising the shop floor which has opened up future career ideas. I worked full time until moving back to Coventry at the beginning of September.

The first few weeks of being back at uni were strange but exciting! Not studying in a uni environment and adapting back into normal student life was tiring. I now feel settled and have figured out my routines for managing my uni work which is why I have finally been able to write a blog post.I am not scheduled to be in uni all day, but making a collection I do not have time to be missing out on an hour in the studio, because I wanted an extra hour in bed.

Image - Alice Wylie - Feeling very at home and chilled this year with another student on my course.

I am now into week 7 of my final year and the days are definitely disappearing quick! I go to Paris in 4 weeks to buy my fabric for my final collection. This is much earlier than in previous years, but I think this is a good idea as it means we have more time to make all outfits by our April deadline and end of year shows.

I mentioned in my last post that I had chosen a theme for my final collection. My theme was changed during my project proposal to my tutors so now I am able to develop it and I think it suits me better. I am really excited each week to get further into my designs.

Image - Alice Wylie - Freshers Week 2019

I will do a whole blog post all about my final year project proposal very soon! I do have a new instagram account for my final year collection, if you are too eager to wait for another post!

Ali xox

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page