top of page

Hello, I'm a Design Intern


Hello and welcome to my blog for my placement year. If you didn't already know, I have been working in London for just over a month now as a Design Intern for Zoë Jordan. I will be working here for the next 8 months, as part of my 3rd year of my Fashion degree at Coventry University.

Even though I am labelled as a Design Intern, I have had the opportunity so far of working in every area of the company, from doing the business side of spreadsheets, to rearranging the website for new and old stock, and working in customer services. My first day I spent learning my daily responsibilities, e.g. making sure the studio is looking presentable, getting the post, booking courier services and answering the phone, first time I was a tad nervous, but I soon got over it, as I make and answer too many in a day.

During my first week, I had the opportunity to visit stores in Central London that stock Zoë Jordan. I visited Harrods, Selfridges, Bluebird and Fenwicks, to look at how they merchandise the brand in store.

Image-Ali Wylie @theshopatbluebird

I have done some previous merchandising before working in retail, so I know its important for the products to be viewed a certain way. I got to experience representing the brand, not just viewing it from the outside. There were specific things that I needed to look out for: two of everything needs to be on the rails; clear brand signage and what other brands are surrounding Zoë Jordan.

Back in the studio, I have been working on a spreadsheet with two of the brands that have been placed nearby in every shop and including all their shop-lists. This is definitely the longest spreadsheet that I have ever made! I have been contacting shops worldwide and finding out their buyers information for the brand to contact.

I am really enjoying my internship at Zoë Jordan and I love working with the whole team! The ZJ team is small, but it means I have been able to get to know and work with them everyday.

Ali xox

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page