top of page

Life After University - What's Next?

University life is officially over. 4 years done and dusted. I will be graduating with a 1st class degree in BA Fashion (Hons) with Professional Enhancement.

Images - Alice Wylie, 2020

Since finishing uni, I started making face masks and donating 20% per mask to MIND. I have raised just over £100 for the charity. I chose this charity as I have worked for them in the past whilst at school for my Duke of Edinburgh Award and then continued on as I really enjoyed volunteering.

Image - Alice Wylie, 2020

(Please message me through my contact page on my website for face masks)

During Covid-19 my mental health has been impacted and many others by all the changes of the pandemic. It has been overwhelming time with stress, depression and anxiety. For me it has been the stress of searching for a job as a recent graduate, the grief of finishing university abruptly and the anxiety of trying to get life back to normal.

The start of lockdown, I was finishing my degree and had a daily motivation to keep going. I needed at least a week to get into the swing of making a collection from my uni flat, but from then on until my deadline in May, I had something to keep my mind occupied.

Since being home, I have watched countless amounts of Netflix, sunbathed and caught up on my sleep from 4 years of uni. Making face masks was a great project to keep my mind occupied for a few months, but I feel like I need to come up with project that I can put more of my energy into and become enthusiastic about. I recently brought myself an overlocker, which I think is a good investment and means I can finish my garments to a excellent standard.

Last week, I started sewing a dress from the leftover fabric of my final collection. I have various amounts of fabric left and intend for it not to go wasted. I plan to alter the length and hem my final collection garments, so that I can wear them and so they don’t sit in my wardrobe. Unsure, if I will ever have a catwalk show, I plan to keep all my garments and sculptural accessories incase one day I can show them off.

I will be continuing to update my blog on my next projects and plans...

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page