top of page

My Commute

So for the past month I have been commuting back and forth to my internship at Zoë Jordan. I have really had the wake up call of getting up early and working Monday to Friday 9-5.30. I really appreciate my weekends and evenings, than I did at uni.It takes around an hour and a half every commute, so I get up at 5.30am and get back from work at 7pm.

Image - Ali Wylie

The first few weeks I was still adjusting to the shock of the mornings and figuring out which train is at what platform and whether I can run and make it from platform 17 to 1, yes I've become one of those people who fully runs for the train. I've learnt that speed walking is not enough and I'm basically doing a work out before and after work.

When I tell people that I get on 2 trains, 1 overground and 1 tube every morning and evening 5 days a week, I have had some weird looks and people think I am slightly mad. But after a month, I seem to get there automatically without thinking! This was very different to my first days, where I was anxious about not making it for the right train, being late or just getting extremely lost. I do get slightly nervous if my train has been cancelled and I have to take another route, which I have never done before, but I am finding it much easier to not stress and asking a stranger for directions isn't as daunting as it sounds.

Ali xox

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page