top of page

SS19 - Production

During the production of Spring/Summer 2019, I have been helping with the alterations and pattern cutting to finalise with the factories so that we have our new collection made and delivered in time for sales. Every item has already been sampled, which were all seen in the SS19 lookbook and buying meetings. These samples still have several more stages before they are ready to be produced.

Each product has to have its measurements and components, such as: hems, zips, drawstrings, aglets and colouring for tie-dye knits all finalised. Whilst helping to source, order and finalise the components, I have been organising for the fabrics to be collected worldwide and delivered to our factories, ahead of production.

For the alterations, I have to follow the charts given that every product has of its measurements. I have had to change some of the measurements, as they do not fit correctly on the body. Being in charge of making changes to these products was rather daunting, as taking off a few centimetres can differ an item greatly.

I think by having to practise these small changes now, it will help towards making my collection in final year. I have always found it slightly nerve-wrecking to alter or cut fabric, as I could cut it and then realise I did it wrong. I think changing these small alterations will help me with that little bit of risk-taking that I so desperately avoid as it may be wrong.

Ali xox

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page