top of page

Branding: Part 1

At Zoë Jordan, I have been set the task of updating and buying new branded stock, for example: business cards, parcel tape, order forms, packaging bags and compliment slips. All these items need to link to each other and carry the brand across all levels of the business.

Zoë Jordan design for branded tape - Ali Wylie

From researching branded stock, I have had the chance to reflect on my personal branding. It has brought up lots of questions I am asking myself about what I want to do for final year and future goals. Could I have my own business? What are my career goals?

Since starting a fashion course at college in 2013, I have always been interested in pattern cutting. I know I have the skills to do this as a career, but I often doubt myself. In my first two years at uni, I have done many pattern cutting projects as well as many other skills in fashion. Continuing into my internship, I have had to learn fashion business, styling, distribution, logistics, management skills and many more. All of these skills I have really enjoyed learning and have helped in the process of eliminating what I do and don't want to do for my career.

Looking back at my research for this task, I need to make my personal branding flow from my business cards, portfolio, resume and website. Whilst being at my internship at Zoë Jordan, I have been working on creating design files for the company. Every text is the same colour, font and size. Every page reflects the next. I need to start finalising my personal branding direction for the small design details. For example, I created my business cards in a rush whilst in second year, so that I had something to give people for my contact details. My website is another aspect of my personal branding I need to think about. I have really enjoyed getting back into writing by doing these blog posts, which has helped whilst being at my internship and working on communication and written tasks.

In the future, I would like to continue my blog, especially in my final year so that everyone reading this can see the development of my work, ideas and projects. It has been a invaluable way for me to see for myself what skills I have achieved from the year out and hopefully to improve my self-confidence that I do have the skills to do my dream job in the fashion industry.

Ali xox

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page