top of page

What is my plan now?

So my placement year is over! I hand in my work at the end of this week, how time has flown by! I have had the most amazing year out and have appreciated being an intern. Although, at times I have done jobs I have not enjoyed, I am grateful of having had the opportunity to work in all areas of the fashion industry with a small team at Zoë Jordan.

So, what is my plan now?

My work CV is all updated, which is a very different formation to my fashion CV for uni. I kept the colour scheme the same and roughly had the same information, but it is more relevant for a job in any industry. Previously, my job skills have been in retail, hospitality, customer and food service. I have numerous amounts of volunteering jobs which I have included, as some of this information was not relevant for my fashion CV. I have been applying to full time jobs, however in the mean time I have been able to make a contact through my work placement. As mentioned in another blog post, I will be working on the shop floor of Monty & Ward during the Easter Holidays. I will be helping for a future event and producing samples for the designer.

My main concern now is looking for a full time job so that I can save enough money for final year. If you don't know already, I have to pay for an excessive amount of fabric from a trip to Paris for my final project; course materials; styling accessories for catwalks; the numerous amounts calico and sketchbooks. It all starts adding up! Before starting any fashion course at uni that I had looked at, I was warned about the expenditure of funding my final year. So another plan is to sell lots of my stuff which I have accumulated over the years from being a fashion student.

Another on my to-do list before going back to uni in September is to do more sewing and pattern cutting projects. I haven't had much time whilst on placement to do this as I have been rather tired from working full time and commuting 3 hours a day for work. I want to be prepared before going back to final year and to remind myself of certain techniques.

Next month, I will be going to an Art Deco Fair at Eltham Palace in London. I will be starting my primary research for final year so that if I do chose to base my final collection on Art Deco I have enough of my own research and I have more time at the moment to visit lots of places.

Image - english-heritage.org.uk - Eltham Palace and gardens

(Art Deco House)

Ali xox

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page