top of page

Final Year - Last Day!

Well we are officially in lockdown!

The university stopped is face to face teachings on Friday 20th March, with a few days notice. I packed up my collection, fabrics, toile's, sketchbooks and knots on the Thursday - this filled a whole car!

Images - Alice Wylie, 2020

I have chosen to share this on my blog as it is a personal account of what I have experienced. This blog is about sharing my university experience and with that comes the ups and downs of both my personal and uni life.

20/03/2020

So today is my last day at uni, uncertain if and when we can return. Yesterday I packed up my rail of final fabrics, toile’s and all my knots for my final collection to be taken back to my uni flat. I feel really sad that this is how my 4 years of uni is ending. I have worked so hard to get to this point.

My first 2 years I battled with a lot of mental health issues and pushed through with faith and trust in God. I found a church that is my home. I am forever greatful to all my uni friends that helped me when I was feeling low. Placement year was amazing and I had the best time with the team at Zoë Jordan. I became a work alcoholic and was so eager to return to uni to get my degree. I’ve been through every emotion during final year. I’m making a collection that I enjoy designing and producing. I got to enjoy my first (sort of) holiday since 2 years ago, by going to Paris to buy my final collection! It was an experience, that I had as a first year seen!

2020 has been tough, especially the past month with my granny passing away. I am emotionally drained. I was so looking forward to my degree show (now cancelled) which is something as a art student you work your whole degree to showcase. I am now finishing my degree in my flat and so very thankful that I have been able to live with Emma Pepperdine this year (and I’m so happy she has an overlocker!!) Saying goodbye to my course mates will be hard today. We have lived in the fashion studios for months; had lunch, snacks, dinner & more snacks together; been emotional & stressed; sang to our hearts content (more me than anyone else); danced to all those 80s tunes and laughed a lot. I will miss this.

I feel so eager and motivated to finish this collection and get my degree now. It will be tough finishing but I have worked so hard to get here and I am not wasting anymore time. I plan to finish my whole collection, as one day I want to show it at an event and show what 4 years of hard work can do.

Coincidently, today this appeared on my memories. Note to self: I am going to make myself so proud.

Image - Alice Wylie 2020

Ali xox

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page