top of page

Final Year Plans

I finish my internship at the end of March, deadline at the beginning of April and then 4th year in September.

So far my plan is that I want to do a collection for my final project. Doing a collection will consist of research, designing, fabric and component buying, styling and sewing for all 6 outfits. Included in this is the making of all the pattern pieces and toiling the garments before making the final pieces in the fabrics. In first year, I worked alongside two final years as an intern to help produce their final collections. This gave me the opportunity, in helping them through their struggle, to develop my own personal pattern cutting skills. I am resolved to learn from their weak time management and avoid this by having a regular routine and keeping to mini deadlines, as I progress through the year.

Doing a final collection will be really helpful for my future goal for pattern cutting. This will be demanding and tough, but I think working in the stressful environment of the fashion industry for the past 9 months will have prepared me. Final years have the opportunity to have their work featured online at Vogue, from being photographed at our London catwalk at the end of the year. This is a huge opportunity as a fashion student and I would like to say I have achieved this.

Link for previous fashion graduates-https://www.vogue.co.uk/brand/coventry-university

For my final project, I would like to base my research on architecture. This is what most inspires me day to day. I love architecture around the Art Deco Movement: the sleek shapes; geometric patterns; bold colours and metallic finishes. I always find it fascinating researching about the history of this design style (1915-1945). Buildings in cities today, especially on my way to work are being made up so brick-like and straight, without that historical artistic element behind them. I have been currently looking into places that I could visit to get primary images around the UK and there are many National Trust properties. I would love to go to see the "Miami Vice" colourful Art Deco design features, but as I am currently not earning much this will just have to be a dream for the time being.Whilst researching, my family have been pointing out several places which they think are Art Deco but are actually Art Nouveau. The 2 design styles came straight after each other and many can get confused. It all comes down to "flowery" vs. "streamlined". If I am going to be inspired by the architectural design style, I will have to make it clear in my research that it is Art Deco and not Art Nouveau.

Image - © 2019 Anderson Design Group, Inc. All rights reserved.

Ali xox

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page