top of page

What's my fashion career?

So I finish my placement this month, how crazy that 9 months is almost over! The past few weeks have been super busy at work with organising our SS19 that arrived in the studio ready to be shipped out to stores, which I have been in charge of. I have been continuing my jobs: updating stock; ATS weekly reports; organising new branding; sending out our AW19 samples to international photoshoots; organising and tidying the studio and merchandising AW19 in the showroom and for meetings. I have learnt so many skills and there are so many options in the fashion industry that I could now choose from.

During my placement year, I have been given the experience and skillset for final year and ideas of what to do when I graduate. The fashion industry may seem like a glamorous industry to break into but it is a vast world that goes beyond designing and handling clothing. Anyone else do those random quizzes online that tell you what career is best for you? Are you a mostly A, B, C, D or E person? Apparently in this one fashion quiz I am a mix between C (Merchandising) and E (Brand Management). The quiz tells me I am a natural leader and there isn’t a goal left incomplete on your to-do list. There’s nothing you love more than picking products you know that consumers will absolutely love. For Brand Management, you thrive on overseeing both product and business within the fashion industry. You are organised and business-oriented. I have thought about doing a career in merchandising before, having worked in retail and enjoying rearranging products, but never a brand manager or in that area of the fashion industry. Although it was just a quiz, actually it proved to be surprisingly revealing.

Image - Ali Wylie - Merchandising Zoë Jordan

There are so many areas in the fashion industry that I have been shown in the past 9 months working at Zoë Jordan as an intern. Although I am meant to have just been a design intern, I have really enjoyed getting involved with the whole team. I have done numerous Excel sheets for the business, planned and organised trunkshow events, helped with production, social media, branding and doing PA jobs. I have been extremely lucky to have been given this opportunity with my internship, working in a small team has helped pushed me into doing so many things I didn't know 9 months ago!

Ali xox

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page